TX TaxiToolsfree tools for uk drivers

Scotland · licence fees

Taxi & private hire licence fees in Dumfries and Galloway

What it costs to licence yourself, your vehicle and an operator with Dumfries and Galloway. Every figure is taken from the council's own published schedule, never from trade press or an estimate.

Driver licence
Taxi or private hire driver licence £131 · temporary licence up to 6 weeks £79 (duration not stated)
Vehicle licence
Taxi or private hire vehicle licence (council calls it an 'operator licence') £434 · wheelchair accessible vehicle £230 · temporary licence up to 6 weeks £260 (duration not stated)
Operator licence
No English-style operator licence in Scotland; the council's 'operator licence' is the vehicle licence. It does licence booking offices: taxi/private hire booking office £434 · temporary licence up to 6 weeks £260
View official source ↗ £ What will this cost me? ⚑ Report an out of date fee

Taken from dumfriesandgalloway.gov.uk. Checked 4 Aug 2026. Fees change, so confirm with the council before you budget around them. Drivers spot changes before I do, so if something here is wrong please say and I'll check it against the council and fix it.

Your medical

Who Dumfries and Galloway will accept: The council does it themselves.

The ages it repeats at, the form they want and the council’s own source are on the Dumfries and Galloway taxi driver medical page.

Other authorities in Scotland

DundeeEdinburghAberdeenFalkirkHighlandNorth LanarkshireRenfrewshireWest LothianSouth LanarkshireFife

Every figure here is taken from dumfriesandgalloway.gov.uk and checked by hand.

← All 318 licensing areas