TX TaxiToolsfree tools for uk drivers

Scotland · licence fees

Taxi & private hire licence fees in Highland

What it costs to licence yourself, your vehicle and an operator with Highland. Every figure is taken from the council's own published schedule, never from trade press or an estimate.

Driver licence
Taxi driver's licence £326 · PHC driver's licence £326 (single rate, no separate new/renewal price published; duration not stated). Fees from 1 April 2025
Vehicle licence
Taxi operator's (vehicle) licence £506 · PHC operator's (vehicle) licence £506 · vehicle inspection £114 (£134 with MOT) · substitute vehicle £77 · plate £30 (duration not stated). Fees from 1 April 2025
Operator licence
No English-style operator licence in Scotland; Highland's 'operator licence' is the vehicle licence. It does licence booking offices: taxi/PHC booking office £404 (duration not stated)

On top of that

Charges Highland lists separately from the licence fee itself. Budget for these as well.

£30Plate or badge

Only what this council states. A blank here means they do not publish it, not that it is free, and there may be other charges besides. Check the official schedule before you budget.

View official source ↗ £ What will this cost me? ⚑ Report an out of date fee

Taken from highland.gov.uk. Checked 4 Aug 2026. Fees change, so confirm with the council before you budget around them. Drivers spot changes before I do, so if something here is wrong please say and I'll check it against the council and fix it.

Your medical

Who Highland will accept: The council does it themselves.

The ages it repeats at, the form they want and the council’s own source are on the Highland taxi driver medical page.

Other authorities in Scotland

DundeeEdinburghAberdeenFalkirkNorth LanarkshireRenfrewshireWest LothianSouth LanarkshireFifeGlasgow

Every figure here is taken from highland.gov.uk and checked by hand.

← All 318 licensing areas