TX TaxiToolsfree tools for uk drivers

East of England · licence fees

Taxi & private hire licence fees in Mid Suffolk

What it costs to licence yourself, your vehicle and an operator with Mid Suffolk. Every figure is taken from the council's own published schedule, never from trade press or an estimate.

Driver licence
Combined HC/PHV driver £141 new and renewal. TWO COUNCIL DOCUMENTS DISAGREE: the published 2024/25 fee schedule says £141, while the 2026/27 Cabinet appendix shows £322 against the same line in its own "2024/25 historic" column. The Cabinet report notes some drivers now pay up front for three years, which may explain an annual £141 against a three-year £322, but neither document says so. Duration not stated
Vehicle licence
HC new and renewal £345 · PH new and renewal £293.50 · vehicle change £156 · transfer of vehicle licence £70 · change PH to HC or HC to PH £70. 2024/25 schedule
Operator licence
£158-£234 or £350-£411 depending on the number of vehicles, same fee for new and renewal. Duration not stated. Frozen at 2024/25 levels through 2026/27 pending local government reorganisation
View official source ↗ £ What will this cost me? ⚑ Report an out of date fee

Taken from midsuffolk.gov.uk. Checked 8 Aug 2026 (2026/27 schedule approved by Mid Suffolk Cabinet 11 Nov 2025; the council's own 2025/26 PDF is a scanned image with no readable text). Fees change, so confirm with the council before you budget around them. Drivers spot changes before I do, so if something here is wrong please say and I'll check it against the council and fix it.

Your medical

Who Mid Suffolk will accept: Your own GP, or a doctor with your records.

The ages it repeats at, the form they want and the council’s own source are on the Mid Suffolk taxi driver medical page.

How many are licensed in Mid Suffolk

143 licensed drivers, 120 licensed vehicles and 21 licensed operators, from the Department for Transport's 2024 figures (taxi and PHV statistics, table TAXI0113).

Other authorities in East of England

CambridgeLutonNorwichPeterboroughCentral BedfordshireHuntingdonshireBedfordBroadlandWest SuffolkColchester

Every figure here is taken from midsuffolk.gov.uk and checked by hand.

← All 318 licensing areas