TX TaxiToolsfree tools for uk drivers

Scotland · licence fees

Taxi & private hire licence fees in Inverclyde

What it costs to licence yourself, your vehicle and an operator with Inverclyde. Every figure is taken from the council's own published schedule, never from trade press or an estimate.

Driver licence
Taxi driver's licence (one licence covers taxi and private hire licensed vehicles) £102 (duration not stated) · fees effective 1 April 2026
Vehicle licence
Taxi operator (vehicle) £483 · Private hire car operator (vehicle) £483 (duration not stated) · vehicle test and meter test charged separately, annual test with meter £187.85 · fees effective 1 April 2026
Operator licence
Taxi / private hire booking office £856 · renewal £856 (duration not stated). Note: Inverclyde calls the VEHICLE licence a taxi / private hire 'operator' licence - that fee is in the vehicle column, not here

On top of that

Charges Inverclyde lists separately from the licence fee itself. Budget for these as well.

annual test and meter check charged separately from the licenceVehicle test

Only what this council states. A blank here means they do not publish it, not that it is free, and there may be other charges besides. Check the official schedule before you budget.

View official source ↗ £ What will this cost me? ⚑ Report an out of date fee

Taken from inverclyde.gov.uk. Checked 4 Aug 2026. Fees change, so confirm with the council before you budget around them. Drivers spot changes before I do, so if something here is wrong please say and I'll check it against the council and fix it.

Your medical

Who Inverclyde will accept: The council does it themselves.

The ages it repeats at, the form they want and the council’s own source are on the Inverclyde taxi driver medical page.

Other authorities in Scotland

DundeeEdinburghAberdeenFalkirkHighlandNorth LanarkshireRenfrewshireWest LothianSouth LanarkshireFife

Every figure here is taken from inverclyde.gov.uk and checked by hand.

← All 318 licensing areas